One of the great thing about Affiliate Campaigns is the enormousness possibility of combinations and split-tests you can do with a single campaign.
Let’s say you want to create a broad dating campaign. The possible combinations of split testing across hundreds of offers, ad networks, landing pages, ad copy can add up to 6,000,000 or more combinations. In fact, I’m underestimating it. I recently have learned how to solve these type of problems and it’s crazy to know that there are so many combinations possible.
100 ad networks x 100 potential offers x 1000 ad copies x 6 different landing pages = 6,000,000
Are you a competitve enough HUSTLER to test out that many possible combinations?
You can definitely create an insanely successful campaign by split-testing 6,000,000 combinations. While that’s a large number, remember: you can split test every aspect of an affiliate campaign. Split test hundreds of ad networks, split test across different dating offers, etc.
One of the most important aspect of affiliate marketing is the ad copy. It’s what gets the user to your landing page. It has to be persuasive enough that it causes them to click on it and engage with the offer to complete it.
Ad-tech San Francisco is going on from February 3 until the 4th (tomorrow) and it’s the last conference going on in the U.S. this year. What a bummer!
I ended up attending Ad-tech New York and while it was a learning experience, I feel that I didn’t make the most of it. Here’s a recap of the NY conference.
If you’re in town in San Fransisco and you haven’t purchased a conference ticket, you’re in luck. I was surfing the interenet and found a blog post that was informative that you should “Fake it Until You Make It“.
One great example of this is of “Gurbaksh Chahal who built an advertising serving website at 16 years old and made his company seem bigger than it was. He ended up creating an illusion on his website saying that the company had many employees and changed his address to reflect that he owned an entire building, when in fact he didn’t. He sold ClickAgents for $30 million dollars 2 years later.
So… by now you’re wondering how to get into Ad-Tech for free. You can apply these lessons to any conferences or parties you might want to crash to grow your network of friends and contacts.
Have you ever stopped and thought about how fast time passes? You might be surprised that 2012 is almost a fourth of the way done. It seems as if it were just yesterday that 2011 became 2012.
Looking back to last year; it’s nice to think about what you did right, what you did wrong, and what you could’ve done better. You reflect back on that year and either you: 1. Made the most of it . . . or 2. Didn’t accomplish what you wanted.
Those are the categories you fit in. One or the either.
I haven’t blogged at all these past two months and rarely before that. Don”t worry about it though. Blogging is one of those things that takes effort, time, and mental effort, ha! To be honest, I have been writing in my personal journal on what I was thinking instead of on here. I am sitting here at one-thirty in the morning, unable to sleep and I was motivated to write a blog post.
2011 was an interesting year. I loved the ability to finally make cold hard cash. It all started out with a campaign I tried on PPV, but failed, and thereafter, tested it on Facebook. . . and BOOM! Profit monies started happening. I started to increase the budget and hit my first $1,000 day. The campaign finally started to die down when I stumbled upon another profitable campaign and that lasted a bit. Not much optimizing needed, but things were going wrong with either the; account, offer, credit card, etc.
Towards the middle of summer I ended up going to a camp with friends, and that’s when the laziness came on. My campaign died during that period, and I wanted to enjoy the rest of summer. School was starting, and I wanted to have good grades, so I focused my time on doing my homework and studying. I ended up getting tired of that, and didn’t much after, lol.
I’m still amazed that it’s been 3 months since 2012 started. In upcoming posts, I’ll write about what I’ve been up to and where I want to head towards.
The reason time is passing so quickly for myself is that I haven’t set any goals for 2012 and am not aiming towards anything to accomplish. You might be in the same boat. When you are working towards a goal, you end up working hard for it because you want to accomplish it. You end up having many experiences while working towards that goal. I cannot stress how important and vital it is to have clear goals with the actions and ways you will accomplish it. If you aren’t making any money with any ventures or businesses you’ve attempted, it might be because you haven’t set clear goals. Even if you are making $1,000 a day with your business whether online or offline, set a goal to make $2,000 per day.
While goals are a necessity for success in any aspect of life, make sure to have a treat each time you accomplish one of your goals. While I knew that I should treat myself each time I reach one of my goals, I didn’t end up doing that last year, and after a while, the goals seemed worthless and I didn’t have the drive to accomplish the other ones as a result. I will update you guys on my goals and how they’re coming along as I’m writing them today and tomorrow.
If you haven’t done so this year, write down your goals for 2012 and the ways you will accomplish each one. These don’t have to be entrepreneurial. They can be about anything. Such as running 10 miles a day or making your bed each day. Goals are not enough to reach your goals or create a habit of doing something. You have to have 100% dedication and persevere through any hardships.
Summary:
Set yourself goals. Short-term goals, long-term goals. Fitness goals. Business goals. Daily goals.
Life is meaningless if you never try to accomplish what you’ve wanted. Work hard and never give up.
2012 may or may not be the end of the world, make the most of it. Reflect back on your successes and failures of 2011 and improve on those. One of the most successful businessman of the 1900′s was a man who spent one whole day a week reflecting back on his meetings and workdays, and thought about what he did right and what he could improve on. Don’t you want to be a better, more successful person?
What are your goals for 2012 and how will you accomplish them? Do you feel in control of how you spend your time?
P.S. How’s the loading speed of this blog? Fast, slow, or alrightt?
P.S.S. Check out my Recommended Books. I have read all of them, and I’m adding a ton more shortly. Knowledge is power, and if you want to be a smarter person, then read more, and try to gain as much knowledge from books or other people you talk to.
Don’t you feel like 2011 has passed quickly? It sure has passed quickly for me!
In the past 12 months, I have learned a lot of things from being an affiliate and my own experiences. A lot of the lessons I learned were when I failed as something or something went terribly wrong and resulted in me learning from my mistake. Through all my experiences and failures, I am able to remember back to them for future situations.
2011 was just the start of my career as an entrepreneur. I will use all my skills and potential for 2012 where I will go beyond being an affiliate to much more. While I won’t go in detail, I am looking forward to all the possibilities 2012 will have.
This is Part 1 blog post because having all the lessons below will be too much for you to read in one post. Below are the first 25 lessons I have learned. I hope that you will be able to learn from my mistakes so you won’t do the same thing. There are no specific order. In the next few weeks I will go more in-depth on some of the lessons that I believe are crucial and you can learn from before you do the same mistake.
Nobody owes you anything. Work Hard for it.
Be careful who you trust
Don’t have an office in your bedroom
Things can get really frustrating – learn how to cope with it
Don’t read too much, act upon it and try it out
Time passes fast; its your greatest asset
Goals are an absolute must for any person wanting to achieve something better in life
Exercising and sleeping are crucial for a healthy body
Tracking/Analytics is something you should know in and out
Facebook has a lot of traffic. Don’t abuse it.
Don’t promote scammy offers
Other affiliates are normal dudes
Dream big. – ex: I dreamed of having my blog on affbuzz, and achieved it! (haha not as big as some other dreams, but you get the idea )
Outsource your stuff; don’t work for money, let money work for you
Taxes blow; create a corporation instead of a LLC and get an accountant. I screwed this up.
Other affiliates are friendly and willing to help.
Most offers shave a lot
Be a leader
Have good time management
Finish Tasks by focusing
Never think or say you can’t do something or something doesn’t work for you; instead phrase it into a question on how you can solve the problem and make it work
Most people won’t succeed. Not willing to put effort. Want a one-click button.
Always look on the bright side. Be optimistic.
Track all your expenses; small expenses tend to add up pretty quick
Media Buying has the ability to generate tens of thousands of dollars per day. It is one of the oldest way of getting paid visitors to your offers yet it is still one of the most powerful traffic solution.
One of the most recommended advertising platform is Sitescout which has a few hundred sites. The minimum entry to get started is $500. The great thing is that it’s a RTB platform where you can start and stop traffic with one click. While they have hundreds of websites, they have specific restrictions on websites that may impact the verticals you may be able to promote. You would have to look at every website you’d like to promote on and see what they do and don’t allow and promote offers according to the rules.
1. Know Your Metrics
Angry Russian emphashizes the need to know your metrics before getting a $10,000 media buy. The more data and knowledge you have on the offer, the less risk you will have on the media buy. Have you tried media buying yet? If so, what was the hardest challenge when testing a media buy out?
Let’s say you want to promote a dating offer that pays $5.00 and is getting a $0.25 EPC on average and the banner receives a 0.5% CTR. Do you know what your can bid for your CPM and break even?
2. Use Sitescout’s Media Buying Calculator To Determine Offer Probability
While the formula in number 1 is good to determine whether the offer will break even, how do you find out how much you can profit, and much easier?
The solution is Sitescout’s Media Buying Calculator. You just plug in the numbers and see whether or not the offer will work.
Let’s say you want to promote a dating offer that pays $5.00 and is converting at 10% ($0.5 EPC) on average and the banner receives a 0.5% CTR. Do you know what your can bid for your CPM and break even? Try figuring this using the calculator below. Plug in 1 for # of days, 500,000 for number of impressions, skip CPM, put 100% if direct linking to dating offer, 10% for conversion rate, and finally $5.00 for offer payout.
Now you can start playing with the CPM to see how much you would have to bid to break even. It’s fun messing around with the calculator.
If you plugged $1.00 CPM, the results would be $1,250 revenue per day, $500 for spend, and $750 in profit. This results in a 150% ROI.
The media buying calculator above can be used for any traffic source and it’s an awesome tool to use. Have you tried any media buys? If so, what was the most difficult thing for you?
Do you know Mr. Green? Are You a fan of Mr. Green? Test your knowledge, take our fun quiz, and get a free Mr. Green ringtone!
(Stackthatmoney Forum Insider Joke )
Mr. Green is one of the co-owners of StackThatMoney Forums and has had a blog for almost two years where he posts case studies, How To Guides, statistics, and more. He started out affiliate marketing years a go and has generated
milions of dollars in revenue since.
1. Be ahead of the trends / competition.
If anyone is ahead, it’s Mr Green tackling the newest traffic source. As you can tell from his blog, he has experience from many different traffic sources. The reason he posts about them is because he’s tested with them and made
a ton of money. Now isn’t that nice? He’s giving quality information that you didn’t know before that you can use for your own campaigns.
Mr Green started out with google PPC and hit success to make millions in the years to come. He started with Traffic Vance in 2008. Can you imagine that? PPV has gotten popular in 2010-2011, but Mr Green already was ahead of everybody
and was able to make a lot more money as there wasn’t as much competition as there is now. (Random Fact: Did you know that the cost for classesusa.com is $0.60 per View. That’s $60 for 1000 views. This must be a high converting
target )
Mr Green was creative with an advertorial page when he decided to add a facebook page and increase trust with users.
I am sure Mr Green also started Facebook a few years back when costs for Facebook were pennies and everyone was making a ton of money. His stash kept adding up. People are still making money with Facebook these days, although
the costs are much more than before. The smart affiliate thing to do nowadays would be to promote internationally. 90% less competition and much more leniency.
Tip 1: Find new ways to promote offers whether it’s traffic sources or creatives.
2. Design Is Important
Don’t you love Mr Green’s avatar? The green guy with what I believe is an axe? Mr Green loves smashing things!
His blog has a unique design that gives it a warm feeling of comfort and excitement. It’s clean and has everything in the right spot. All his pictures are photoshopped and look very professional and good.
He learned digital media design in university which gave him a boost. Mr Green can easily create landing pages quickly and optimize them to convert because he has the skill and ability to design. I am sure that the skill he acquired
of design has made his life a whole lot easier.
Tip 2: Learn how to design! Whether it’s tutorials or by going to school. Just Do It.
3. Always Be Testing
From the many posts of Mr Green, he has a lot of case studies on a variety of topics from POF to Headlines to Banners. Many of his case studies are based on common affiliate mistakes or ideas which they believe are correct. Most
affiliates don’t test enough, and it’s nice to see the different ways Mr Green tests campaigns.
Tip 3: Always be split-testing. A minor change to the ad, or landing page can result in a dramatic increase in EPC.
4. There’s Failure Before Success
Mr Green was scammed at 20 years old, which was a major setback and obstacle for him. He was determined to overcome that challenge and become a full-time affiliate. In the end, things turned out much better and he’s made
millions since. Many people can relate to this as well as I. I had fanpages totaling 10 million stolen from me back a keylogger (yupp, I was stupid) which could’ve been $50,00 in profit.
If you ever find yourself failing multiple times in any aspect, just remember that there’s a light at the end of the tunnel and it will be very rewarding once you get there. On average, affiliate’s only have 1-3 out of 10 campaigns that
turn out to be success. You may have 10 failed campaigns which you should have learned a lesson from each failure so you wouldn’t do the same thing again.
Tip 4: Always jot down or remember your failures. It goes: Failure –> Hustle –> Failure —> Failure –> Success! Yay.
5. Be Funny
Mr Green is quite the jokester. From his images to his jokes spread throughout his blog posts, and his A.D.H.D review, it all makes you feel happier. It is said that to capture an audience’s attention and get them to believe your
message and respect you; you should have 50% content / 50% jokes. Wait! That’s too much. Probably around 80/20.
Having funny content captivates an audience’s full attention. Remember this when speaking in a seminar-type-thing if you ever do.
What are some things you have learned from Mr. Green that has helped you and your campaigns?
If you haven’t already, fan me on Facebook, Follow me on Twitter, or add me to your RSS feed for tips and tricks!
I sure hope you have learned some new things from Mr. Green. If you have, sign up to the StackThatmoney Forums. It’s golden for any new or seasoned affiliate. It’s only $99 per month, but it’s worth it. There’s affiliates who’ve made millions who share free tips and guides.
Do you know why you aren’t able to make money with your affiliate networks? Have you tried testing every affiliate vertical out there and nothing is working?
There are two reasons behind each of them. The first reason is plain and simple which is that you’re not testing enough and jumping from offer to offer not giving time to fully test out the offer.
The second reason might have to do with the factors below. It really might not be your fault on why you aren’t making money with the offer.
It’s interesting how advertisers are stealing money from affiliates through several ways.
The Five Factors:
Mobiles scrub 30-50%
Rebills payout $40, but the advertisers make up to $250 back. Chargebacks, etc ends up making them pay up to $90-$100 per user.
Email Submit/Download offers scrub insanely
Single people usually visit a dating site 7 times before signing up. If you send them straight to the offer, you are losing a ton of money and wasting money on branding the dating site.
Affiliate networks have different redirecting times based on how many times the offer is brokered and the link tracking service they use.
While not all these factors apply to all affiliate offers at affiliate networks, a majority of these factors impact most offers. I did not know mobile offers scrub at 30-50%. Did you? Imagine how much more money you could have made more if you had double the epc. You would be able to scale a lot more and much more quickly.
The second factor apply’s to you if you are running rebill offers. The price of rebill offers have definately gone down in the last few years. FTC changed regulations and became more strict. Advertisers have a lifetime value of 3-4 months for an offer, but they have a small payout. With a lower payout, it would be harder for you to run at profit levels.
As most of you already know, email submits scrub hard. They have a nice, juicy payout requiring the user just to fill out their email when you get paid the lead. In reality, they scrub up to 90% on some offers. The conversion rates and epc’s might be nice the first few days of running the offer, and then drastically reduces after that.
Not many people do this, but it would be a better and viable way to go. What most affiliates don’t do is build assets such as email lists, websites, or their own products. Statistics show that single people see a dating website 7 times before they decide to sign up. A majority of single people are at work surfing on facebook, and they really are interested in signing up for the offer, but don’t have time to do so. The simple solution is to build an email list. Entice people to sign up with “dating tips” and after they submit their information, send them to an affiliate dating offer or offer wall page.
Did you know that your network may be the reason your offer is not converting? The affiliate network may have offers that are brokered multiple times thus increasing the redirects and decreasing the speed. Another factor may be the tracking system the affiliate network uses. One of the major reasons to slow redirections is because of the advertiser who has a crappy slow host. Seriously? Can they not afford to get a decent host for a few thousand dollars?
Conclusion
The simple solution to overcoming the challenges of all these is go direct with the advertiser. Find out who the advertiser is, and do anything to try to contact them. This is after you are making at least $1,000 a day in revenue with them. Build your own affiliate network wit HasOffers if the advertiser doesn’t have their own system. Be sure to have quality traffic if you plan on going direct. They will be willing to increase your payout in return. Karma.
P.S. If you really want to have control of your own destiny, become an advertiser and promote your own products. I am planning on creating my own products and services in 2012. It will be an interesting experience which I will blog about.
What are some other things you have experience with affiliate offers that may have impacted your revenue?
Isn’t December one of the best months in the year? It’s the time of the year when it snows and go out snowboarding and having fun in the snow. Everyone seems a little bit happier this time of the year, hundreds of people at the mall fighting each other for the best deals. Even you may be spending a lot of money buying gifts for family and friends.
It really is one of the best times of the year. You spend the month reflecting back on the year and what you have accomplished and learned and what you want to achieve the next year.
It is reported that 30% of many companies revenues come from just the holidays such as Black Friday, Christmas, and other various holidays. That’s the time when they spend most of their money on advertising as they want to get a lot of customers. That’s great, right? Wrong!
Many of the large corporations have hundreds of millions of dollars which they still have left in their budgets and need to spend it by the end of 4th quarter. The result is that major traffic sources become quickly depleted with major advertisers who blindlessly bid ridiculously high CPM’s / CPC.
You may even notice that the starting bids on Facebook have gotten much higher to even get a decent amount of traffic. For example, last week, I created a campaign for males that had a large 5+ million market and I ended up trying to first bid at $.55 to test out the offer. 30 Minutes later and I still didn’t get a single click. Strange. I upped my bid to 75 cents and traffic slowly started to trickle in slowly while some of my ads generated high CTR’s and slowly caused my CPC to go down. This was for an age group I have created campaigns for previously and costs weren’t as much. It went from $.45 to $.33 and stayed around there for a bit, and finally went down to $.09 while I was still bidding 30 cents.
It took a few hundred dollars to bring to cpc’s that low. The point is that there are so many brand advetisers spending an enermous amount of money to spend the rest of the years advertising budget. Also, Facebook recently introduced 6 ads per page and may cause your ad to result in low CTR’s if it’s below the fold.
Now. . . I’m not trying to stop you from trying to create campaigns next month, as it’s one of the most active months of the year. But if you are just starting out and your campaigns aren’t working, you may want to wait until January which is when all the cpm’s drop down and publishers are seeking for advertisers.
If you still want to try and create campaigns next month, try creating seasonal campaigns for cheap gadgets (penny auctions) or dating as many single people are feeling really lonely during this time of the year. For those of you who are more creative, you could try and promote ecommerce stores through google as I remember seeing a blog post on someone who generated $70k in revenue.
There are many of you out there who are already have some good campaigns going, so this post may not be of interest to you, but be ready to experience a drop in your ROI next month.
Edit: Now that I look back at it, when I started my first facebook campaign in January, the cpc’s most likely dropped since many companies left their platform + Facebook costs were 100% cheaper than they are now.
Prove me wrong, create a profitable campaign next month.
Have you experienced traffic becoming more expensive?
Did you know that there’s a simple formula to creating headlines that catch attention? On average, 8 out of 10 people will read headline copy, but only 2 out of 10 will read the rest. Once you can crack the code of creating catchy headlines, you will be a step closer to making millions or a step ahead of your competition.
Since I started this blog, I read many blog posts on what makes a good headline and catches people attention. Reading many blogs headlines made me notice the pattern to what creates a good blog post and headlines in advertising as well. One of them is DirectResponse.net. Rich is a direct response marketer who knows what gets people to click. Look at all the titles of the blog posts on the right hand side.
If you want to start making money online, whether it’s from affiliate marketing, or owning your own product, and even having your own blog, you should know the formula to creating great headlines. You will be further ahead than your competition after you realize how to make headlines that work.
You may have noticed these type of headlines from banner ads or from reading blogs. They may be all over the place and that’s because they get people to click.
10 Simple Headlines:
1 Tip….
1 Trick…
X Way(s)
Why You
How to
ATTENTION: / WARNING
Congratulations
1 Weird
Shocking…
1 Simple…
These are all headlines that many blog owners and affiliates or agencies use to for their blog posts or ad headline. The headlines are in no particular order, in case you were wondering. The reason these headlines work so well is because they have an easy solution for the users. People are lazy! If you didn’t know that yet, then you will soon realize that. Why do you think weight loss pills are so popular? Give them an easy headline that benefits them, and they will click on it.
When writing headlines, you should be specific with the benefit the user will be getting. For example, “How to Lose 15lbs in 2 Weeks.” I just made up that headline, but it has a clear benefit to the user and specific to how long it would take. The more specific, the more people will click on the ad.
I am sure there are many headlines that catch attention, but those were the top 10 I have seen online. If you really want to succeed in any type or form of internet money making, you should first know how to create exceptional headlines.
Resources to learn more about headlines:
CA$HVERTISING - It’s a must read book for anyone wanting to get into marketing. You need to get it!
Some of the best copywriters spend nearly half of their time coming up with their headline. You should do the same. Headlines are on the most important aspects of selling a product.
There are many blog posts and books on what makes a good headline. I didn’t post all of them up there, but if you know any, leave it in the comments below.
What are some other headlines that you have seen many times?
On the side note: Happy Thanksgiving! Going to Thanksgiving party right now.
It’s been two days since I came back from New York and went to Ad-Tech during Wednesday & Thursday, here’s the recap of my week:
I flew in on Monday with my sister around 3PM and it took about 2 hours to arrive at the hotel since we took the subway. My sister and I finally arrived at the hotel and dropped all our stuff in the hotel. We decided to explore so we left and went around the newly built hotel and then walked to Times Square. Humongous, colorful, and weird advertisements were plastered on every building there was. People were walking all over the place and taxi’s were the only visible type of vehicle we saw. It was just like the movies, haha. We continued to explore the city and went from store to store, curious at everything we were seeing. We finally arrived back to the hotel and watched a movie.
The next day, Daniela (my sister) and I went out and ate chocolate muffins for breakfast. Later in the day, I met up with Brenton who I’ve known over a year now after meeting on TBF Forums where we wanted to partner up and open GPT sites. A few months later, we stumbled upon each other in CPALEAD, a network like Blamads, when the Facebook spamming craze was going on. People were generating six figures a month by having hundreds of thousands of people signing up to the offers on gateway content unlockers. We ended up hanging out for the rest of the day walking a lot going from place to place and chilling.
During Tuesday night, Brenton and I went to China Town and decided to head over to the LimelightCRM party. Unfortunately, we were not able to get in.
The following day was Wednesday and it was the first day of the exhibition hall. It began around 10AM although I left around 12:30pm or so. It was only a few blocks from my hotel and so I walked there and met up with Brenton again. We went in and got our badges printed and we were off to the exhibit hall.
When we entered the exhibit hall, I didn’t realize how big it was until a few moments later. There were a ton of booths for affiliate networks, ad networks, and other type of businesses. We ended up walking around the whole exhibit to see which booths we would be interested in talking to. 15 minutes later, I bumped into Justin, the owner of Affbuzz.com. Somehow he recognized me, and we ended up talking for a while and Eleah from Adsimilis came there too so we got to meet her as well. According to The Angry Russian, Justin doesn’t like attention, but I finally got to meet him as I owe him a great deal as I get most of my visitors from Affbuzz.
While we were talking to someone else, Dino came up to us all three of us ended up going to different booths and talking to people. Some of the people are:
Jason (Smaxor, Owner of Ads4dough) – Ads4Dough finally appeared at the exhibit hall after a few hours, and we walked over to there and began talking to Jason. I started asking him questions on how he started in the industry and about his affiliate network, and he was very open and still talked to us even though all his AM’s were busy with other people. We talked around 15 minutes and I was surprised by some of the stories he had. Also met Ted Dhanik, the owner of EngageBDR while talking to Jason. Ads4Dough is one of the top affiliate networks out there. I am glad to have met Jason. I wasn’t able to talk long with Arthur, one of the AM’s at A4d.
Max (Co-Owner of WhatRunsWhere) – WRW is a banner spying tool for over a dozen ad networks, if you didn’t know. WRW was developed around 1-2 years before it was actually released to the public and the users who were able to spy on the ads at the time were able to generate massive profits. Max is a smart guy, and was interesting to hear his background and how he started.
Taras (AM at MundoMedia) – Taras is my AM at MundoMedia and it was great to have met him at the exhibit hall. We talked for a bit, and I found out that MundoMedia as an affiliate network is pushing six figures a day with just mobile offers. This doesn’t include silver-path. So if you’re looking to promote pin submit offers, MundoMedia is the place to go. They also have a lot of international offers, which is where the $ is really at.
Martin (mgrunin at Wickedfire & STM) – I met Martin at ad-tech as well, and found out he was the guy who started roishare and some other good stuff. I found out he was Moldovian, so it was cool that we were representing. He’s also a cool guy, and I was interested by the things he had to say. If you didn’t read it yet, check out his thread on Facebook dating on STM forums for you out there who are struggling with it. He’s been doing it for a few years now, and it was nice of him to share some of his knowledge.
They were just a few of the people I met. It was great to be able to put a face on these people and build a real connection with them.
From Left to Right: Dino, Me, Martin and Brenton
After the exhibition closed down, Dino, Brenton, and I headed over to eat something for dinner. Are we ate, we decided to go over to Xposure and again, we weren’t able to get in, even with our VIP passes, haha. We took a taxi over to the ClickBooth party and same thing happened as well. There was no point in trying to go to the A4d Party. Although, I believe there was a gay club right next to A4d which ended up being weird as we had this one drunk dude come up to us and start talking to us. It was a disappointment. Dino, Brenton, and I decided to walk back to the city and grab something to eat.
I woke up Thursday; tired out of my mind, I could barely open my eyes. I decided to go to the Exhibition Hall around 2pm. I was too tired to do anything and didn’t have the strength or motivation to talk to any companies, so the three young money affiliates decided to sit down and relax. The exhibition hall closed down early that day. Later that day, we met up with Gabriel who Brenton knew because of MMD. I have seen his posts on MMD before, when I used to browse that site and saw that he knew his stuff.
1 Thing That Surprised Me:
Gabe decided to start doing media buying after the success of his campaigns before started dying down on ppv. He told us that he lost $25,000 of his own money before he saw any profit. This just made me think of how many people there are out there that only spend a few hundred of even a few thousand and call it quits.
Lesson is that you should persevere and be determined and you will reap the rewards and benefits of your hard work.
The last day at New York, I spent it with Daniela and we ended up going to the world trade center and Wall Street which was amazing. We were also able to see the Occupy Wall Street with all the lazy people worshiping idols, doing drugs, and just sitting around. By the end of the day we were exhausted, so we ended up going back to the hotel and taking a nap for a while.
Luckily, I am glad that I didn’t get arrested. That’s a story for another time
One of the Occupy guys pretending to be "rich"
Overall, going to Ad-Tech was a great experience and I was able to make some connections. The negative thing about ad-tech is that it’s much more corporate that ASW/ASE and so you see a lot of corporate people walking around. I will definitely be attending more conferences as it’s a great excuse to go on vacation as well as growing my business. I would recommend for you to get out of your office if you have enough money, and attend some of the conferences. It will definitely help grow your business as well as making connections.